//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Buy a Business to Grow or Get Started

I’m a huge advocate of buying companies to get started or to rapidly or strategically grow your business. Of course, I’m biased. I started my career as an Industrial & Systems Engineer. Like BASF, we take things and make them better. Products, services…why not companies? And while still in college I was awed by Reginald Lewis. I read about him in the Wall Street Journal and was very upset when he died in his 50s. I figured he could be a mentor when I finally got on his path. C’est la vie!

Here’s an excerpt from a Wall Street Journal article on the subject that piqued my interest:

“If you’re interested in entrepreneurship, but lack ideas or time to create a new business, buying an established company may be a wise alternative. You’ll inherit a working infrastructure complete with resources you’d otherwise have to secure on your own, such as equipment and employees. You’ll also ideally be taking over a known brand built on a positive reputation over many years’ time.


Buying a business typically does require more capital upfront than if you were to build one anew. But asking prices have been on the decline in recent years due to the weak economy. And sellers are increasingly offering to finance a portion of the price for buyers who are unable to obtain bank loans.”

 

I agree with what the WSJ writer says but I differ somewhat on the premise. It is so much easier to obtain financing for a proven entity. So if you have great management experience and can find a company in an area that you want to expand into, whether it’s to start or to grow, it’s relatively easy to obtain the financing to buy that entity. Of course, if you have a strategic investor, venture capital firm, or other large investor backing you, financing isn’t a concern. But acquisitions can still be a great idea when you are looking to get into a market or market niche but don’t have the personnel or expertise in-house. You can acquire it. (Strategic partnering or joint venturing is another option but that’s another discussion.)

 

Anyway, if you haven’t considered acquisitions as a strategy, I recommend you do. It may not be right for you, but I don’t suggest ruling it out by default (i.e., ignoring it).

About Tiffany C. Wright

Hi! I,Tiffany C. Wright, am the author of the ebook, "Help! I Need Money for My Business Now!!" and the book "Solving the Capital Equation: Financing Solutions for Small Businesses", available on Amazon. I am the president of Toca Family Business Services, a short-term & project-based interim management & strategic and financial advisory firm, located in Atlanta, Georgia. In the past five years I've helped small and medium companies restructure and obtain over $31 Million in financing and a similar amount in purchase orders and contracts. I have an MBA in Finance and Entrepreneurial Management from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania and a B.S. in Industrial and Systems Engineering from The Ohio State University. Personal: I enjoy investing. I am a prodigious reader of everything from business books, magazines, and newspapers to horror and popular fiction. I read 4-6 books per month. I also love to travel. I've been to 33 countries on 5 continents and lived in Japan for 2.5 years and aim for a foreign locale twice a year. I am also an athlete and run track on the Master's Circuit. The highlight was placing 7th in my age group in the 2007 World Master's Track and Field Championships in Italy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

The Resourceful CEO, Tiffany C. Wright

the president of Toca Family Business Services, a strategic and financial advisory firm which provides short-term & project-based C-level management. She is the author of Solving the Financial Equation: Financing Solutions for Small Businesses, available on Amazon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

